Premio Malaspina

Ya está abierto el plazo de CONVOCATORIAS AL III PREMIO MALASPINA otorgado por la asociación Spanish Researchers in Australia-Pacific / Investigadores Españoles en Australia-Pacífico (SRAP-IEAP) y la embajada de España en Australia a aquellas personas que han contribuido a establecer y/o reforzar los vínculos culturales, académicos y científicos entre España y Australia.⁠
La carta de nominación debe incluir el nombre completo y los datos del nominador, el nominado y las razones de la nominación. Además, se deben cumplir los siguientes criterios:
  • Contribución significativa al avance cultural y/o científico de las relaciones entre Australia y España
  • Excelencia demostrada en su campo profesional
  • Logros personales, académicos o profesionales
  • Evidencia documentada de las repercusiones positivas de su contribución
  • Disponibilidad y compromiso para seguir promoviendo y mejorando el intercambio cultural y científico de ambos países en el futuro
La nominación debe incluir una lista con dos personas de contacto (preferiblemente uno de España y otro de Australia), el currículum vítae del candidato y una carta de apoyo emitida por un miembro de la SRAP o la Embajada de España en Australia.
Más información, en inglés debajo:

On the occasion of the 6thAustralia-Spain Research Forum, the Association of Spanish Researchers in Australia-Pacific / Investigadores Españoles en Australia-Pacífico (SRAP-IEAP) in collaboration with the Spanish Embassy in Canberra are pleased to announce that the nominations for the II Malaspina Award are now open.

The Malaspina Award is an honour bestowed by the Spanish Embassy in Canberra and the Association of Spanish Researchers in Australia-Pacific / Investigadores Españoles en Australia-Pacífico (SRAP-IEAP) awarded to individuals who have made an important contribution to the advancement of the scientific and/or cultural relationships between the two countries. The prize is awarded annually.

This award is named after Alejandro Malaspina who led the Spanish World Scientific Expedition 1789-1794 that carried out studies in natural history, cartography, ethnography, astronomy, hydrography and medicine in Latin America and the Pacific, including Australia.

The III Malaspina Award has been sponsored by Navantia Australia. The award is embodied by the statuette «Heart» designed by the internationally renowned Spanish artist Óscar Martín de Burgos. It also includes an AUS $1,000 prize and a certificate.

Nominations are open to any Australian or Spanish citizen regardless of the Country of residence, with the condition that the prize-winner should be able to attend the Prize Award Ceremony on November 7th in Canberra. Nominations should be forwarded to the Embassy and to the SRAP mailbox from now until September 30ththrough the following e-mails:


The letter of nomination should include the full contact details of the nominee and the reasons for the nomination, including the following criteria:

  • Significant contribution to the cultural and/or scientific links between Australia and Spain
  • Demonstrated excellence in their field
  • Personal, academic and/or cultural and professional achievements
  • Demonstrated impact of the contribution
  • Commitment to promote bridging and to enhance cultural and/or scientific exchange in the future

Additional documents should include a list of two contact references (preferably one from Australia and one from Spain), the candidate’s CV, and the support letter from a member of SRAP or from the Embassy.

The winner should be able to attend the Award Ceremony on November 27th in Sydney, conditioned to the latest COVID-19 recommendations.

More information:
Previous winners of the Malaspina Award:

I Malaspina Award: Luke Stegemann (2018)

Luke Stegemann is an Australian writer based in South-East Queensland. He has worked in media, publishing and higher education. With a long career as a teacher, translator and journalist, he was formerly the managing editor of The Adelaide Review and the founding editor of The Melbourne Review. He has written for a wide range of Australian publications including Meanjin, The Monthly, The Age, the Sydney Morning Herald, Overland and the Australian Institute of International Affairs, as well as leading Spanish newspaper El País.

He discovered Spain by surprise in the 1980s. In love with the country, he had no choice but to return to live in it, and since then he combines seasons in Australia and seasons in Spain. Known for his affection for everything Spanish, Stegemann has written two books with a completely or partially Spanish theme: The Beautiful Obscure (Transmission Press, 2017) and Amnesia Road: Landscape, Violence and Memory (New South, March 2021). The Beautiful Obscure is a fascinating voyage of discovery revealing the unexpected and surprising connections between Australia and Spain from a multifaceted prism that summarises history, literature, social life and personal transformation.

All the info about the I Malaspina Award on this webpage.

II Malaspina Award: Universidad Loyola Andalucía (2019)

The 2019 Malaspina Award acknowledged “Universidad Loyola Andalucía” (Seville and Córdoba, Spain), for its extraordinary work pioneering close research ties between Australia and Spain. Loyola University’s partnership with five research centres from the University of Sydney and the Australian National University (ANU).

Professor Carlos García-Alonso Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research at Loyola has led an international research team to develop tools which are helping government and public agencies in Spain, Australia, the United Kingdom, Chile and Finland make better decisions about health care. This research strategy has promoted exchange for 10 researchers in Australia and Spain, international collaboration on 24 European and Australian projects, and research produced more than 40 scientific publications. This continuing cooperation has also included the promotion of Australian academics in Spain and vice versa. Dr Ian C. Simpson, formerly at University of Sydney, is the Director of the Department of Psychology at Loyola University Andalusia in Seville. Dr Jose A. Salinas is honorary senior lecturer at the College of Health and Medicine, Australian National University.

The Spain-Australia Council Foundation provided its support to this candidacy and recognised the academic initiative as a reference model for future collaboration between Australian and Spanish research centres and companies.

All the info about the II Malaspina Award on this webpage.